HEC announces award honorees


The Hoosier Environmental Council (HEC) announced its 2008 Organizational Awards this past weekend. Winners came from all parts of Indiana and represent a variety of approaches to protecting the environment.

Here's Executive Director Jesse Kharbanda's praise for the worthy recipients.

"In addition to their geographic diversity, winners of our awards represent the multitude of ways that people can have impact - as entrepreneurs, educators, technology professionals and as engaged citizens."

"What unites this motley crew is their indefatigable belief that Indiana can become, despite all of our environmental challenges, a truly sustainable place."

At this point, I'm just passing along the list, but we'll try and get some info on the winners and where readers can find more information. In the meantime, I'm sure google will send you in the right direction


This year's honorees:

Organization of the Year: The DePauw Environmental Policy Project (Greencastle)

Klawitter Award for Lifetime Environmental Achievement: Don Mottley, Save our Rivers (Boonville)

Sustainable Champions of the Year: Pam and John Steinbach, Grassroots Green (Fort Wayne)

Green Business of the Year: Inovateus (South Bend)

Legal Advocate of the Year: Kim Ferraro, Legal Environmental Aid Foundation (Valparaiso)

Technology Innovators of the Year: Eric Stallsmith (Johnson County) and Derek Reuter (Fort Wayne),

Frontline Advocates of the Year: Julie Alexander (Muncie) and Nick Ellis (Madison)

Frontline Educators of the Year: Judy Berkshire (Camden) and Valerie Doud (Wabash)

Exemplary Performance as a HEC Staff Member: Sue Odom and Tricia O'Neil (Indianapolis)

Climate Change Advocate of the Year: Leslie Webb (Carmel)

Sustainable Agriculture Outreach Award: Dr. Maria Marshall, Purdue University (Lafayette)

For more on the Hoosier Environmental Council and the 2008 Awards go to



This Week's Flyers

Around the Web