Arts » Written + Spoken Word

Indiana Authors Award announces winners


Margaret McMullan
  • Margaret McMullan
The first two 2011 Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award winners were named Wednesday. The winner of the National Author Category, Margaret McMullan, will receive a $10,000 prize with the Regional Author category winner, Helen Frost, receiving $7,500. The three finalists for the Emerging Author category were announced alongside the winners and will be recognized at the Indiana Authors Award dinner on October 29 at the Indianapolis Central Library.

These awards recognize the literary contributions of Indiana authors nationwide. A program of the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, the award is paid for by The Glick Fund as part of the Central Indiana Community Foundation.

Nominations for the award were made in spring. Hoosier-born, published authors and those who lived in Indiana for at least five years were eligible for nomination. A state-wide panel consisting of ten members selected the winners and nominees.

McMullan, the National Author category winner and recipient of a $10,000 prize meets the requirements of "a writer with Indiana ties, but whose work is known and read throughout the country." McMullan teaches in the Department of Creative Writing at University of Evansville and is the author of six award-winning novels. Her latest book, "Sources of Light", is an American Library Association 2011 Best Book for Young Adults and a Chicago Public Library Teen Selection.

Frost, the Regional Author category winner and recipient of a $7,500 prize meets the requirements of "a writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana." Frost has worked with the Fort Wayne YWCA and the Fort Wayne Youtheatre to help high school students write about the effects of violence in their lives. The students' writing was the basis of a play and anthology, both entitled "Why Darkness Seems So Light".

Three finalists were announced in contention for the Emerging Author category winner and $5,000 prize. Micah Ling, Aaron Michael Morales and Bich Minh Nguyen have each published no more than two books in their lifetime, as required by the award.

Ling, a DePauw University graduate and IU alum, has published two poetry collections, taught at IU, Butler, DePauw and Franklin College, and writes freelance articles for NUBO and Indianapolis Monthly. The Indianapolis resident also manages three websites that review books, music and films.

Morales, an associate professor of English and gender studies at Indiana State, has published one novel, "Drowning Tucson," one short fiction chapbook and one textbook. Currently at work on his second full-length novel, he also edits fiction for Grasslands Review and reviews books for Latino Poetry Review and Multicultural Review.

Nguyen, a University of Michigan graduate and professor of creative fiction, nonfiction and Asian-American Literature at Purdue University, received multiple awards for her novel "Short Girls." Her memoir, "Stealing Buddha's Dinner" was a Chicago Tribune Best Book of 2007.

As well as the cash prizes, each award winner's hometown public library will receive a $2,500 grant from the Library Foundation.

Prior to the award ceremony, free public events featuring award nominee lectures, workshops and book signings will take place. The Award Dinner is ticketed and will benefit the Library Foundation, where the Emerging Author winner will be named. McMullan will provide the keynote speech.


This Week's Flyers

Around the Web