Sports » Sports + Recreation

Pagenaud wins the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis

It's Simon's third win already this season


Simon Pagenaud wins the 2016 Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis. - MIKE WILLIAMS
  • Mike Williams
  • Simon Pagenaud wins the 2016 Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis.

Simon Pagenaud has won the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis. Pagenaud lead 57 of 82 laps to win over second place Helio Castroneves by a margin of 4.478.
The race couldn’t make it through the first turn without a caution as the number 10 car of Tony Kanaan made contact with the 11 car of Sebastian Bourdais. The pits were opened during this caution and Bourdais immediately pitted to work on the front suspension of his car.

On lap 3 Graham Rahal and Josef Newgarden both pitted to top off the gas tank and continue their attempt to return to the top of the field. Both drivers started from the back of the field due to post-qualifying penalties. Both cars failed their tech inspections due to being underweight.

Pagenaud, who was leading the race for the fourth time in five races this year continued to hold onto the lead before pitting for the first time on lap 22, giving up the lead to Charlie Kimball. He held onto the lead for two laps before pitting for gas and tires.

Rahal, who started the race in 24th position took the lead in the race. He would only lead for two laps until his pit stop on lap 25.

By the time all of the green flag stops were complete, Pagenaud would regain the lead in the race. By lap 33, Pagenaud’s lead over Kimball would extend to 3.778 seconds.
The race saw its next caution on lap 38 as Bourdais, who had re-entered the race after his first lap accident, was pulled from the track due to a mechanical failure. This caution would go on for an extended amount of time when JR Hildebrand had to be towed off course after running out of fuel on lap 39. After all of the pit stops took place, Helio Castroneves would take the lead followed closely by Noblesville native Conor Daly.

Daly would take the lead with a pass in turn one on lap 28. This was the second time Daly has led a race this season. He held onto the lead for as a much as 3.3753 seconds on lap 56 before giving up the lead when pulling into the pits on lap 60, giving up the lead back to Castroneves.

Castroneves only held the lead for a few more laps, until the next pit cycle where Pagenaud reclaimed the lead for a final time. Pagenaud won the race on pit lane with a pit time of 6.9 seconds. “I drove into pit lane like a rally car,” Pagenaud said after the race.

Pagenaud held the lead by as much as 5.0727 seconds before claiming his second Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis by 4.478 seconds.

Castroneves, James Hinchcliffe, Rahal, and Kimball filled out the top five in the race. This was Hinchcliffe’s first race in Indy since his accident here last year in which he was nearly killed in practice for the Indianapolis 500.

Pagenaud had the fastest lap among race leaders on lap 22, where he averaged 125.617 m.p.h. Alexander Rossi had the fastest lap overall on lap 67 with an average speed of 126.240.

The race saw seven lead changes. Kimball took the lead on lap 22, Rahal claimed the lead on lap 24. Pagenaud reclaimed the lead on 26 before giving up the lead to Castroneves on lap 41. Rookie Conor Daly claimed the lead on lap 46 before Castroneves reclaimed the lead on lap 60. Two laps later on lap 62 Pagenaud would take the lead and hold on to win the race.

Pagenaud led race leaders with 57 laps led. Daly finished the race with 14 laps led. Castroneves led seven laps with both Rahal and Kimball leading two laps each.
There were only two caution laps today. The first three-lap caution took place on lap one due to the contact between Bourdais and Kanaan. The second caution took place on lap 38 due to Bourdais having a mechanical failure. That caution lasted seven laps.
There were six penalties handed out from race control. On laps 16 and 22 Takuma Sato and Montoya respectively were given drive through penalties for pit exit violations. (They exited pit lane too early.) On lap 43 Alex Tagliani was moved to the back of the field due to exceeding pit lane’s speed limit. On laps 62 and 63 Newgarden and Will Power were issued drive-through penalties respectively for exiting pit lane too early.

You can find the official race report here.


This Week's Flyers

Around the Web