Music » Music Reviews

Review: broken light/Earthgrazer, split 7''



broken light/Earthgrazer
Split 7''
Jurassic Pop Records

West Lafayette band broken light takes off on the first side of the vinyl with "Dawn of Nothing", a mixture of shoe-gaze and hazy pop. Members Eric Komenda, Brent Smith, Dylan Schwab, and Brad Threlkeld blend instrumental elements to create a singular sonic theme throughout the song. Komenda's voice fits perfectly with the laid-back rock vibe, melodically similar to Death Cab for Cutie. They mix the melancholy lyrics with a comfortable, grooving tune.

Earthgrazer's contribution, "Violet and Hum", trades the chilled tones and atmospheres on side A for a more energetic and riff-centric track. The post-rock band hails from both Chicagoland and West Lafayette, though their creative influences range much wider. Evan Fife, Mike Ashenbrener, and David Woods build catchy and progressive rock songs with their unique sound.

The 7'' vinyl comes in a variety of designs including rainbow-splattered, coin-flip, color-split and clear. By randomizing and individualizing the 7''s Jurassic Pop Records has made the basement/garage pop sounds of West Lafayette something for the rest of the Midwest to lust for.


This Week's Flyers

Around the Web